Skip to content

Stataywhit's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

This week’s assignment is researching HTML5 websites in order to understand how the new tags are being used. The first site http://urustar.net/ has a clean minimal page website (as I was seeing in a lot of the websites coded in HTML5).

I like the notes that were given on this site, like the ones that follow:

This one had notes that indicated what each function for tags. Like section was the start of the page, or the “page section”

header id=”first”
this is not very semantic, but it’s using an html5 tag. Next is the hgroup. Not sure what hgroup does…looks like a category for items that go in the header.

The links were attached to the same document, indicated with a # sign. He used it differently than what I did in homework last week…I put the index.html#… not # to begin the url. I do not know if this is a shortcut in the old html or the html5 function.

The coder used the new nav tag for the links section

Not concerning code, but rather the navigation. I am confused how they have two different kinds of links that are for portfolio and contact us. It is in the nav section and also the div id=”menu” as well. It is kind of confusing to me, but the viewer may not even notice it.

The section tag is used for the about us section again, kind of like a div with an id. It’s breaking up content into “sections.”

The

tag is used again in the about us section. I didn’t realize that you could use the header tag more than once, and without an id in the about us section. It’s function is just to show emphasis on a heading I am guessing.

The

