Skip to content

Stataywhit's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Today was a sad day. I’m just going to put it out there. I have tried to dismiss that the day would come when my volkswagon beetle would kapoot.

But it’s dead and our one car family is now a no car family. The economy has not effected my life more than the last three months. I see now why “they” call it the hard times.

It gives me some perspective as to how ignorant I was of situations.

My Bug died on the side of the road last night at approximately 9:00pm. We were on our way back from picking up Kevin’s daughter, Catie-Claire in Tyler Texas. Not two miles from the city limit, I ran over a large piece of metal spanning the whole right lane. We all three calmed ourselves down as we heard another and then another car hit this piece of metal and join us on the side of the road. Lucky for them, blowouts were their problem. The bug’s oil pan was sliced open, transmission dislodged and rear axel bent.

However, we have great friends here in Dallas that came to our rescue and brought us to safety. Today, I had no choice but to salvage the car. I had already paid 4 times the car’s worth in repairs in the last 2 years and I just couldn’t do it anymore.

So for our memorial day weekend, we will be shopping for cars.. something I should have thought about doing 2 months ago.

As they say…Hind sight… well I’m not even going to finish that one 🙂

